Here and There

It has been a while since my last post. Sorry!! I am keeping busy not only with this foster pup in our home, but also I have been watching a black lab during the afternoons for the past 3 weeks. That ends today though! I still do not have a job BUT I am going to start volunteering at our animal shelter in June, where Ben thinks I will get my animal fix (I think I’ll be tempted to bring them home lol). The shelter is really good though because they don’t put animals down just because they are taking a long time to get adopted. They will wait for the right home which makes me feel a lot better about working there. They only put down those who are too aggressive or too sick (without hope of being healed) to be adopted out. I am excited to start!! I also applied for a job with the school system here which would be nice because I would get a lot of days off following the school calendar. Pray that I can at least get an interview!!!! I have really been struggling trying to find a job that doesn’t require at least 3 years of experience…which I just do not have. =/ Such a frustrating catch 22.

Enough about my job strife. Ben is doing really well. He has been traveling to Texas for a few weeks at a time. He is thinking he will be going to Japan sometime this year too. The one trip I am excited for is a week in Hawaii. Ben is trying to go to a week long training in Hawaii. I think I might try convincing him to take me along :) I am super excited for my great friend Bethany to come visit for a week. She comes on Monday night. I love having visitors!!!!!

Ben and I had our first anniversary 2 weeks ago. I can’t believe it has been one year already! We are so blessed to have each other. This year has been full of new adventures and experiences. I have enjoyed having Ben by my side as we have gone through them. I can’t wait for many more!! We had a great time celebrating. On Friday we went to the drive-in movie theater near us. The best thing was that it was only 30min away. I am so used to driving at least an hour to get to one. We saw Battleship and half of Lockout. Battleship was alright, a typical end-of-the-world aliens are attacking so save Earth movie. Ben liked it more than I did. Lockout was horrible. It was long and really had no point. We left, which I don’t think I have ever done just because a movie was bad. On Saturday we went to Northwest Trek, which is a wildlife park. I have pictures but I can’t upload them right now for some reason. They had a tram ride where you could see bison, elk, reindeer, big-horned sheep, deer, and moose just free range. It was very cool. They also had grizzly bears, black bears, cougars, wolves, etc. I loved it. I was surprised how tiny the grizzly bears looked though. For some reason I had in my head that they were huge. Ben suggested that if I ran into one in the wild and it was standing up on it’s hind legs it would look way bigger. I had to agree lol.

Tried getting a good picture at Mt. Rainier but it’s so hard!

I hope everyone’s Memorial Day Weekend was great. Since Ben had a four-day we went camping in our new tent cot. For those of you who have not heard of such a thing (I hadn’t until we bought one), it is a queen sized cot that is off the ground with a tent over it. It was extremely comfortable since we did not have to fight with the ground for a good place to sleep. We went camping in Kalaloch Campground. It was right on the ocean and about 40min south of Forks. And no, we did not see any vampires or werewolves ;) There are 4 beaches there, originally named Beach 1, Beach 2, Beach 3, and Beach 4. We went to Beach 4 on Sunday morning when the tide was completely out. There were huge rocks with tide pools. Covering the rocks were huge orange and purple starfish and bright green anemones. God is obviously a Clemson fan :) The best thing about where we camped was it was only a 3 hour drive so it would be an easy weekend trip. When Ben gets back from Texas again we are thinking about going to the Hoh Rainforest to camp and hike. It is only a few minutes north of Kalaloch. I love living where we can be in the rainforest, on the beach or climbing a mountain all within 3 hours!! Such a beautiful area here.

Hanging out in the Eno
Orange & Purple
Don’t think it has the concept of camouflage down!
Very awesome tree.
our tent cot…next to a giant tent.
Leave a Reply

